The joy of being a bookworm

The other day my mum emailed the Abe list of books to read to your six year old. My DS is five years old and I adore snuggling up with him and reading. We've been reading to him since he literally was a few days old.

For us, as a family hailing from generations of bibliophiles, reading with our newborn son was as natural as watching him breathe and smelling his gorgeous baby smell.

I've always been a bookworm and one of the amazing gifts of being a mother is the chance to re-discover the joy of reading anew, through the eyes of your child. Imagine discovering the pleasures of books for the first time!

We've done the whole journey now through cotton pram books, board books, small picture books, larger picture books, right on to 'chapter books' where we are now. I've adored the picture book stage. The chance to re-read my own childhood favourites like

The tiger who came to tea

 

Are you my mother

 

The blackberry farm books

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the chance to discover some new classics like Harry and his infamous bucket of dinosaurs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

No matter what

 

Room on the broom

 

 

Now I'm entering the magical world of books with chapters, old puffins with beautifully dusty smelling pages that I read in childhood and am now collecting again, and which we're reading at night.

the moomintrolls

 

 

My naughty little sister

 

 

The faraway tree

 

 

Plus the fantastic hobbit

 

 

And I'm discovering new titles that my son adores…

Horrid Henry

 

 

 

 

 

 

It's like a box of chocolates that never ends. I know that soon down the line come the breathtaking treasures of The lion, the witch and the wardrobe

 

Swallows and amazons

 

 

Secret seven

 

 

 

 

 

 

What books do you recommend for a five-six year old? What were your childhood favourites at that age?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

